How to turn off Shared Experience in Windows 10

0
35

As we all know, Microsoft has introduced the Shared Experience feature in the Creators Update (v1703). This feature allows users to share web links, messages, application data … with other Windows 10 PCs or Android phones connected to Windows. In addition, this experience sharing feature allows you to share or transfer videos, photos and documents with other Windows 10 devices through Bluetooth or Wi-Fi connectivity.

Admittedly, this feature is quite useful for many Windows systems because it allows easier sharing of information. However, if you do not want to make your Windows 10 system discoverable by other devices on the same network or simply you do not want to use this feature, here’s how you get You can disable the Shared Experience feature in Windows 10.

Turn off Shared Experience from the App Settings

If you just want to disable the Shared Experience feature under user accounts on a Windows system, you can do so from Settings. The benefit of this approach is that all other users on your system can still access and use experience sharing.

1. First, find and access the Settings app in the Start menu . You can also use the Win + I shortcut

2. In the Settings application , navigate to System , and select Shared Experience . On the right panel, move the switch under Share Across Devices to off .

Yes, now your Shared Experience feature on Windows has been disabled.

Disable Shared Experience from Group Policy

If you want to disable Shared Experience for all user accounts on your Windows system, the best approach is to use the Group Policy Editor. In addition, this method is especially useful for network administrators.

1. Locate the gpedit.msc entry in the Start menu , right-click it, and select Run as administrator to open the Group Policy Editor with administrative privileges. Now navigate to Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> System -> Group Policy.

2. On the right pane, find and double-click on Continue experiences on this device. This is a policy that allows you to control the state of the Shared Experiences feature on your Windows system.

3. In the policy info section, select the Disabled option and click the Apply button and the O button to proceed to save the changes.

To make the changes effective, restart your system or open the Command Prompt with administrator privileges and execute the gpupdate / force command to force the system to update the changes in Group Policy .

If you want to re-enable the Shared Experience feature, select either Enabled or Not Configured . More specifically, if you select Enabled, you are asking Windows to enable the Shared Experience feature. If you select Not Configured , Windows will return to its default behavior. Shared Shared is enabled by default.

Turn off Shared Experience from the Registry

If you do not have access to the Group Policy Editor Group Policy Editor, you can disable the Shared Experience feature by editing the Windows Registry. This is not difficult, but you need to create a key and a value. So, to be safe, make a backup of your registry before you make any changes.

1. Look for the regedit keyword in the Start menu , right-click it and select Run as administrator . This action will help you to open the Registry with administrator rights. Now, let’s create the key. To save you time, just copy and paste the URL below into the address bar.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREPoliciesMicrosoftWindows

2. In the left panel, you will find a key called System. If not, right-click on Windows, select New -> Key and name the new key System.

3. On the right pane, right-click and select New -> DWORD (32-bit) Value and name it EnableCdp.

4.  Now double-click on the value and make sure that the value data is set to 0.

At this point, you have disabled shared experiences for all user accounts in your Windows 10 system.

If you want to re-enable shared experiences , remove the EnableCdp value or change the value data to 1.